McCandless Township Sanitary Authority

The McCandless Township Sanitary Authority (MTSA) was incorporated in 1955, under the Pennsylvania Municipality Authorities Act of 1945. MTSA provides sewage service to the Town of McCandless. Bradford Woods, Franklin Park, Marshall, Pine, and parts of Ross and Hampton has an operating agreement with Ohio Township and manages Girty’s Run Authority which provides service to Ross, Shaler, Reserve and Millvale.

MTSA’s system consists of four sewage treatment plants, 17 pumping stations, and more than 240 miles of 8- to 42-inch gravity sewer lines serving over 52,000 customers. Four drainage basins (watersheds) comprise its service area: Pine Creek, Lowries Run, Girty’s Run, and Little Pine Creek. The Lowries Run and Girty’s Run basins are included in the service area of the Allegheny County Sanitary Authority (ALCOSAN), with which MTSA contracts.

Board Members serve five-year terms. Typically expertise in engineering or business best prepares a candidate for the role of this board.

Board Members

NameTitleTerm ExpiresAppointed
Christopher L. Eddy


Dec. 31, 2022

Aug. 25, 2017

Bill Kirk


Dec. 31, 2020

Dec. 21, 2015

James J. Forsey


Dec. 31, 2021

Feb. 26, 2018

Patrick M. Semon


Dec. 31, 2023

Dec. 17, 2018

Thomas Merski


Dec. 31, 2024

Nov. 25, 2019